Winners announced for 2020 Baltimore Alternative Music Awards

Baltimore Alternative Music Awards

WTMD’s Baltimore Alternative Music Awards showcases the area’s best songs, songwriters, packaging and more.

This morning, WTMD Baltimore Music Coordinator Sam Sessa joined Morning Show Host Alex Cortright to announce the winners of the 2020 Baltimore Alternative Music Awards.

If you missed it, don’t worry — at 4 p.m. Thursday Feb. 27, Afternoon Drive host Carrie Evans and WTMD General Manager and Program Director Scott Mullins will host a reprise of the awards ceremony.

Now in its third year, the BAMAs feature categories such as Artist and Song of the Year, Best Vocal Performance, Band We Wish Would Reunite and more. New this year: Best Holiday Song!

It’s our way of showcasing the area’s best music – from albums to songs to live performances – in our format. Some of the best music in the world is made right here in our backyard, and WTMD is one of its biggest supporters.

Here’s a look at the winners and nominees from last year and 2018.

And now, the 2020 winners and nominees …

WTMD’s 2020 Baltimore Alternative Music Awards

Song of the year
Alexander Peters – “Crystal Ball Gypsy
Caleb Stine & The Revelations – “Juniper Antenna
Concrete City – “We Could Fall in Love
J. Robbins – “Abandoned Mansions
Kentavius Jones – “Rogue Train” **WINNER**
Letitia Vansant – “You Can’t Put My Fire Out
Wye Oak – “Fortune

Album of the Year
Caleb Stine & The Revelations – “Mystic Country
Cris Jacobs – “Color Where You Are” **WINNER**
June Star – “The Late Spring
Kentavius Jones – “Bohemian Beatbox
Lower Dens – “The Competition
Mark Hopkins – “VIII
Mary Prankster – “Thickly Settled

Artist of the Year
Caleb Stine
Cris Jacobs
Maggie Rogers
Mary Prankster **WINNER**
Super City

Best vocal performance
J. Robbins – “Abandoned Mansions
Kentavius Jones – “Rogue Train
Letitia VanSant – “You Can’t Put My Fire Out” **WINNER**
Michael Nau – “No Quit
Outer Spaces – “You Won’t Let Go of My Line
Skribe – “Birdwatching

Best New Artist
Airplane Man
Concrete City **WINNER**
Jeremiah Lloyd Harmon
Peach Face
Modern Nomad
Never Ending Fall

WTMD Performance of the Year
Alexander Peters at the Mighty Pint
Dan Deacon at Pulse
Ed Hough’s Dead Collective at AVAM **WINNER**
Mary Prankster at WTMD
Post Pink at Rock Block

Best Holiday Song
Andy Bopp – “The Bells of Christmas” **WINNER**
Brother’s Keeper – “Merry Christmas Baby
Charm City Junction – “Jingle Bells/Breaking Up Christmas
Micah E. Wood feat. Ari Pluznik – “Electric Menorah
Mr. Husband – “Christmas Hairdo

Best packaging
Skribe — “Birdwatching” single

Band We Wish Would Reunite
J. Roddy Walston & The Business

Lifetime Achievement Award
Professor Thomas Dolby 

WTMD is sponsored by

WTMD is sponsored by

WTMD is sponsored by

Share This Page