Winners announced for WTMD’s Baltimore Alternative Music Awards

The nominees have been announced for this year's Baltimore Alternative Music Awards.

The nominees have been announced for this year’s Baltimore Alternative Music Awards.

Now in its second year, WTMD’s Baltimore Alternative Music Awards is a new way of showcasing the area’s best music – from albums to songs to live performances – in our format. Some of the best music in the world is made right here in our backyard, and WTMD is one of its biggest supporters. These awards are for music released and performed in 2018, and are sponsored by Christopher Schaefer Clothier and Rams Head Live.

Winners were announced at 7 a.m. this morning and an encore ceremony will also be broadcast live on-air at 5 p.m. today, Feb. 28.

Song of the Year
Dream in the Dark” — Kurt Deemer Band
He’s Alright” — June Star
Hurry” — Super City
Keep Falling Over” — Outcalls
Light On” — Maggie Rogers
The Madness” — Pressing Strings
Moon” — Post Pink **WINNER**

Album of the Year
If You Really Want” — Raul Midon
Lush” — Snail Mail
Riddles” — Ed Schrader’s Music Beat
Sanctuary” — Super City **WINNER**
Summer Vice” — Thunder Club
Wherewithal” — Andy Bopp

Artist Of the Year
Beach House
Joy Postell
Maggie Rogers
Raul Midon
Snail Mail **WINNER**

WTMD performance
Andy Bopp at First Thursday Festival June 5 at Canton Waterfront Park
An Evening With Pianos Become The Teeth April 12 at WTMD
Black Root Underground and Outcalls at Saturday Morning Tunes’ Movie Soundtrack Show Sept. 15 at the Baltimore School for the Arts **WINNER**
The Greenberry Woods “House” album release show Dec. 6 at WTMD
The Nighthawks at First Thursday Festival May 2 at Canton Waterfront Park
The Ron Holloway Band & Smooth Kentucky Nov. 8 at WTMD’s 15th birthday bash at the Baltimore Museum of Industry

Best New Artist
Chaunter **WINNER**
Joy Postell
June Pastel
Robert Julian Fronzo
Too Soon Jokes

Best Debut Song
Dreamdriver” — Mr. Husband
Like a Stone or Like a Rose” — Robert Julian Fronzo **WINNER**
Mirror Mirror” — Chaunter
Without a Phrase” — June Pastel

Best Vocal Performance
Joy Postell – “Water
Letitia Van Sant – “Gut It To The Studs
Maggie Rogers – “Light On
Raul Midon – “Pick Somebody Up**WINNER**
Super City – “Sanctuary

Best Video
Ed Schrader’s Music Beat – “Dunce**WINNER**
Micah E. Wood – “Club Song
Pescatore – “Thanks Gods America
Super City – “Sanctuary

Best Album Artwork
Beach House – “7
Caleb Stine – “Moon**WINNER**
Joy Postell – “Diaspora
Pianos Become the Teeth – “Wait For Love

Collaboration of the Year
Andrew Grimm & ellen cherry **WINNER**
Ed Schrader’s Music Beat & Dan Deacon
Neville Jacobs
Turnstile with Diplo

Band We Wish Would Reunite
Winner: Lungfish

Lifetime Achievement Award
Winner: Abigail Janssens, co-owner of The 8×10

WTMD is sponsored by

WTMD is sponsored by

WTMD is sponsored by

Share This Page