Dig into this week’s Saturday Alternative playlist! The Fitting Room album was Content by Joywave, out now on Hollywood Records.

Rochester New York’s Joywave broke out a few years ago with their song Dangerous, a collaboration with producer Big Data. The song was everywhere – a hard hitting and paranoid, modern day anthem for the current state of technology and information sharing. Fortunately for them, the same technology they warned about also made them quick indie sensations and they went on to have a lot of success with their debut album, How Do You Feel Now the next year. Two years later, and the band has followed that up with a new 11-song collection called Content. That’s conTENT, not CONtent, which apparently a lot of people have been calling it, but as you hear in the opening title track, that was kind of the point. You might expect an indie pop band to water down or streamline their sound a bit at this stage in their career, but I appreciate the fact that Joywave has taken perhaps an even more ambitious approach to their sophomore album, while keeping with the dystopian electronic rock sounds that kickstarted their career.


Every Day’s The Weekend – Alex Lahey – I Love You Like A Brother

Last Time I Saw You – UNA

City of No Reply – Amber Coffman – City of No Reply 

Lust For Life (feat. The Weeknd) – Lana Del Rey – Lust For Life

Beat Down – Mister Heavenly – Boxing The Moonlight 

Lady Fondue – Death By Unga Bunga

Edge of Town – Middle Kids

It Came to Me – The Barr Brothers – Queens Of The Breakers

I’m In Love – Umm – Double Worshipper 

Fake I.D. – Joyce Manor – Cody 

Anna, Lisa Calls – Happyness – Write In 

Stale Smoke – Blis. – No One Loves You


Glide – The Dream Syndicate – How Did I Find Myself Here? 

Orchids – The Shacks – The Shacks EP 

—hour 2—

Dirty Water – Low Cut Connie

Valley Boy – Wolf Parade – Cry Cry Cry

Faded Heart – BORNS

Say Yeah – Kishi Bashi – Sonderlust 

On and On – Curtis Harding

Stranger’s Kiss (feat. Angel Olsen) – Alex Cameron – Forced Witness

A Lost Machine – Grandaddy – Last Place 

Dead crush – alt-J – RELAXER

Less Than – Nine Inch Nails – Add Violence

Strange Seeds – Black Lung

Poor Traits of the Artist – Ron Gallo – Heavy Meta 

Feel The Same – Bully – Losing

Shouting At The Dark – The Mynabirds – Be Here Now

This Time – Land of Talk – Life After Youth

—hour 3—

Equal Powers – Violents & Monica Martin – Awake and Pretty Much Sober 

December – Yumi Zouma – Willowbank 

What You Do To Me – Benjamin Gibbard – Bandwagonesque (Teenage Fanclub cover)

The Bus Song – Jay Som – Everybody Works 

In The Moment – DMA’s – Hills End 

Neighbors – Grizzly Bear – Painted Ruins 


Content – Joywave – Content

Shutdown – Joywave – Content 

It’s a Trip! – Joywave – Content

The Alien – Manchester Orchestra – A Black Mile To The Surface 

Slip Away – Perfume Genius – No Shape 

Ultralife – Oh Wonder – Ultralife

The Bluebird – DADA