This Friday marks the one year anniversary of Prince’s death, and while fans the world over will spend the day digging into his vast catalog, we’ll also have something new to listen to in the form of an EP called Deliverance.  The 6 previously unreleased songs that make up the EP were recorded by Prince and producer/engineer Ian Boxill between 2006 and 2008, and Boxill put the finishing touches on them following Prince’s death.

“I believe ‘Deliverance’ is a timely release with everything going on in the world today, and in light of the one-year anniversary of his passing, “ said Boxill in a press release. “I hope when people hear Prince singing these songs it will bring comfort to many. Prince once told me that he would go to bed every night thinking of ways to bypass major labels and get his music directly to the public.  When considering how to release this important work, we decided to go independent because that’s what Prince would have wanted.”

Deliverance is set to drop this Friday on the independent label RMA, although since the announcement was made on Tuesday, it has been reported that Prince’s estate has filed a lawsuit against Boxill which could potentially prevent the release from happening. You can listen to the EP’s title track, a bluesy gospel ballad capped off by a searing guitar solo by the late legend.