This week on The Saturday Alternative, we heard a haunting new track from DC synth pop duo GEMS, who are set to release their debut full length, “Kill The One You Love,” in October.  We also heard a fresh new sound from Night Beds (aka. Winston Yellen), a beautifully ethereal and rhythmic new song from a German band called ABBY, and an epic new song from the ever ambitious Casey Crescenzo and his band The Dear Hunter. We took one from Baltimore’s own Quantum Keys who just released his debut full length, and checked out a new track from LA electronic rock band HEALTH, who just dropped a wildly intense new album called DEATH MAGIC.

Our Fitting Room album was Morning World, the new album from Teen Daze. The melding of synthetic and organic, folk and electronica, guitars and samples, is something we’re hearing more and more often these days. Teen Daze is another guy with a knack for blurring those lines. On this album, he worked with producer John Vanderslice, who took his sound in a more organic direction than before. But it’s the synthetic that is so tastefully and carefully spliced into the mix that make this all the more interesting. Not to mention the fact that these are great songs with really nice melodies. We recommend trying this one on before summer ends.


Artwork for Teen Daze's new album "Morning World"

Artwork for Teen Daze’s new album “Morning World”


Here’s this week’s playlist. Enjoy!

(Scroll down for the SoundCloud playlist.)




Highway Patrol Stun Gun – Youth Lagoon – Savage Hills Ballroom (Fat Possum)

Return To The Moon – EL VY – Return To The Moon (4AD)

The Shade – Metric – Pagans in Vegas (Fat Possom)

Living As A Ghost – GEMS – Kill The One You Love  (Carpark Records)

Dear Boy – Simon Love – It Seemed Like A Good Idea At The Time (Fortuna Pop)

How Could You Babe – Tobias Jesso Jr. – Goon (True Panther Sounds)


All And Everyone – Small Feet – From Far Enough Away Everything Sounds Like The Ocean (Barsuk)

Corner – Night Beds – Ivywild (Dead Oceans)

Batteries – Batteries – Batteries

Marks To Prove It – The Maccabees – Marks to Prove It (Caroline)

Found You – Django Django – Born Under Saturn (Ribbon Music)


Disintegrate – Painted Palms – Horizons (Polyvinyl Records)

Hush – Abby – Hexagon (Island Records)



Hearts – Patrick Watson – Love Songs For Robots (Domino)

Forever For Sure – Laura & Greg – Forever For Sure

I Want To Feel Alive – The Lighthouse and The Whaler – Mont Royal (Roll Call)

Vestiges – Martin Courtney

It Came To Me – The Domestics (Tender Loving Empire)

Feel Alright – Quantum Keys – Songs Out Of Season

Wait – The Dear Hunter – Rebirth in Reprise (Canary Goods / Equal Vision)

I Used To Pray For The Heavens To Fall – The Dears – Times Infinity Volume 1 (Dangerbird)

This Time – Son Lux – Bones (Glassnote)



Powder – Starbenders (Institution)

Moaning Lisa Smile – Wolf Alice – My Love Is Cool (RCA)

Transistor Resistor – The Whistles & The Bells – The Whistles & The Bells (New West)

Quarter Past The Hour – Jack + Eliza – Gentle Warnings (Yebo Music)

Ill – Aaron Taos – Guits EP (Clam Club)

ii) Gold – Mikal Cronin – MCIII (Merge)

Black Hole, Weirdo Shrine – La Luz – Weirdo Shrine (Hardly Art)

I’ve Been Waiting For Her – Mac Demarco – Another One (Captured Tracks)

Invisible Ways – Tanlines – Highlights (True Panther Sounds)

A Beautiful Woman – Deradoorian – The Expanding Flower Planet (Anticon)


Morning World – Teen Daze – Morning World (Paper Bag)

Life In The Sea – Teen Daze – Morning World

Along – Teen Daze – Morning World 

Wildfire – The Mynabirds – Lovers Know (Saddle Creek)

Pretty Pimpin – Kurt Vile – B’Lieve Im Goin Down (Matador)

Yes Im Changing – Tame Impala – Currents (Modular/Interscope)

Hands All Over Me – Tamaryn – Cranekiss (Mexican Summer)

Hello My Name Is… – Ott. – Fairchildren (Ottsonic)

Burning Sugar – Silicon – Personal Computer (Domino)

Freedom! ’15 – !!! – As If (Warp)